Skip to content

Thanksgiving

October 16, 2013

The other day we were driving home from Thanksgiving dinner – a tradition that was new to the other three members of my family. In fact I had to explain what the holiday was and what almost everything on the table was. I can’t imagine not eating stuffing or having gravy or pumpkin pie ever before. But those are not exactly Mexican foods. But two out of the three tried everything and they shared something they were thankful for when we went around the table. Even though I couldn’t be home with my biological family, it was like going home in a sense. I took my family by choice to celebrate with my Live Different family, at the place that was my home for over two years.

But I digress from the car trip. The girls started playing a version of “I Spy”. They would come up with clever clues of places and things we were driving by and the rest of us would guess. For example, “Where do you arrive dirty and leave clean?….The car wash.” “What has four wheels and says ABC on the side?…..The bus beside us.” Ok, so some clues were more clever than others. There is a chain convenience store here called OXXO so I gave the clue, “what place has lots of hugs and kisses?” The first guess wasn’t what I was going for but it was the best answer – “Family!” And that’s exactly what I am thankful for this year – a family full of hugs and kisses and love.

No comments yet

Leave a comment